Want free shoes? find out more HERE

My Complete Guide To…

The Best Leather Climbing Shoes

chosen by

on

Leather climbing shoes may be an old-school way of doing things, but there’s a bucket load of benefits that go hand in hand with them. Here’s everything you need to know.

La Sportiva Solution thumbnail

My Top Pick

La Sportiva Solution

The Solution is the most popular performance shoe ever created.

La Sportiva Finale - All day climbing shoes

For Beginners

La Sportiva Finale

An entry-level shoe that will take you a lot further than the beginner walls.

Scarpa Helix Thumbnail

For Budgets

Scarpa Helix

My favorite budget shoe, made with 100% leather uppers.

Tenaya Iati

For Performance

Tenaya Iati

The Iati is an awesome sending shoe, perfect for techie outdoor sport lines.

We price check from over 12 of our most trusted retailers and share the lowest price for every shoe we recommend on this page. If you click a link, we may also make a little commission (at no extra cost to you, obviously).

Leather climbing shoes have been around for a very long time. In fact, in the Victorian era, the first pioneers of mountaineering used boots made entirely from leather. I’m talking leather uppers, soles, interiors, the whole shebang.

Thankfully, climbing shoes have evolved drastically since then, but the prominence of leather in climbing shoe manufacturing still remains fairly widespread. 

Although natural leather has some beneficial qualities for climbing shoes (we will get to those shortly), it’s no secret that leather has one of the most detrimental impacts on the environment of any raw material, which is partly the reason why many shoe manufacturers are now turning to vegan climbing shoes as a more environmentally-conscious alternative. 

Most leather climbing shoes today are lined with synthetic fabrics, which are known as hybrids. By using a combination of both leather and synthetic materials, manufacturers are to utilize the benefits of each material.

The Best Leather Climbing Shoes

To get you started here are a few of my favorite leather climbing shoes I recommend you take a look at.

My Top Pick

La Sportiva Solution

La Sportiva Solution Review
Overall
8.6
(7 reviews)
  • Edging - 9/10
    9/10
  • Smearing - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Steep Terrain - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Comfort - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Sensitivity - 8/10
    8/10
  • Value For Money - 10/10
    10/10

Pros

  • Laser precise toe is awesome for technical footwork
  • 3D molded heel is great for heel hooking
  • Secure fit thank to the hook and loop strap

Cons

  • A little expensive
  • Not suitable for all-day climbing
  • The straps can break easily

Upper Material: Hybrid (suede leather and microfibre)

The La Sportiva Solution isn’t just a favorite of ours, the pros can’t get enough of it either. We recently logged 1000 of the hardest sport ascents from the last 15 years, and amazingly, the Solution was used on over 25% of these ascents. In our books, that makes the Solution the most used performance shoe ever. 

La Sportiva Solution Testing

FUN FACT: The Solution was the shoe of choice for Adam Ondra and Nalle Hukkataival on both the hardest lead (Silence, 9c) and boulder ascent (Burden Of Dreams, V17).

This shoe isn’t just reserved for professional climbers though. Whether you’re in the gym, crushing at world-class climbing destinations, or simply having some fun at your local crag, you don’t have to look very far before you see a pair of these bad boys. 

Best For Beginners

La Sportiva Finale

La Sportiva Finale Review
Overall
7.65
(6 reviews)
  • Edging - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Smearing - 7/10
    7/10
  • Steep Terrain - 6/10
    6/10
  • Comfort - 9/10
    9/10
  • Sensitivity - 6/10
    6/10
  • Value For Money - 9/10
    9/10

Pros

  • Comfortable
  • Good all-around performance
  • Vibram XS Edge rubber
  • Good at edging

Cons

  • Small toe patch
  • Limited sensitivity

Upper Material: Hybrid (Suede calfskin)

Looking for a beginner-friendly leather shoe? I suggest taking a look at the La Sportiva Finale. It’s one of the best beginner shoes ever made, at least in my humble opinion.

The Finale has been a staple of La Sportiva’s lineup and has helped scores of beginner climbers find their feet at both gyms and crags across the world. At a glance, the Finale looks like most budget shoes, but don’t be fooled, there is more going on than meets the eye. 

For starters, the outsole is made from 5mm of high-quality Vibram XS Edge rubber. This gives the shoe a rigid profile and gives the shoe brilliant edging ability. All that rubber also helps make the shoe more durable, so it will be more forgiving of a beginner’s less-refined footwork. 

Best For Budgets

Scarpa Helix

Scarpa Helix

Upper Material: Suede Leather

Being a self-confessed shoe snob, I turn my nose up at many budget shoes. Their no-frills design and cheap construction often don’t perform or last anywhere close to what you hope they would.

But the Helix is one of the rare budget models that I believe offers new climbers a really good bang for their buck. For around the $100 mark, they don’t come much better than this.

The 3.5mm of XS Edge is a high-quality rubber you won’t find on many budget shoes and helps deliver a good level of edging. The suede uppers are also reinforced with some strategic stitching, that stops the shoe from excessively stretching and becoming sloppy.

Sure, the Helix it’s not exactly a high performer, nor would I use the shoe for gym climbing. But for beginner and experienced climbers who are prioritizing comfort, it’s certainly worth a second look.

Best For Outdoor

Tenaya Iati

Tenaya Iati Review
Overall
7.25
(2 reviews)
  • Edging - 9/10
    9/10
  • Smearing - 7/10
    7/10
  • Steep Terrain - 8/10
    8/10
  • Comfort - 9/10
    9/10
  • Sensitivity - 7/10
    7/10
  • Value For Money - 9/10
    9/10

Pros

  • Very comfortable
  • Good all-around performance
  • Unique closure

Cons

  • Heel can be a little baggy
  • Minimal toe rand

Upper Material: Hybrid (suede leather and microfibre)

While this Spanish shoemaker has been churning out high-quality climbing shoes for over two decades, Tenaya hasn’t received the same attention as its other European counterparts.

That said, don’t be fooled into thinking that Tenaya is a second-rate shoemaker. These guys are making some of the best performance shoes currently on the market, and are favored by climbing superstars like Alex Megos, Chris Sharma, and Jimmy Webb. 

Of all their models, perhaps the most noticeable is the Iati. This hybrid leather shoe is Megos’ go-to shoe for most styles of climbing and even helped with his legendary 9c ascent of Bibliographie. 

The Iati builds on the winning qualities of another of Tenaya’s hugely popular creations, the Oasi. The biggest difference between the two shoes is that the Iati uses a full sole, compared to Oasi’s partial split sole. This gives the Iati a slightly stiffer profile, lending itself to lead climbing and longer sports routes.

The Benefits of Leather Climbing Shoes

best leather climbing shoes

Like everything in life, there are benefits and drawbacks to opting for leather shoes. Here are a few things to bear in mind when deciding between leather or synthetic climbing shoes.

The Pros

Breathable – Perhaps the most unique property of leather is its natural breathability, a characteristic that is extremely difficult to replicate with synthetic materials. The ability to absorb sweat, then release it in the form of vapor, is perhaps the single biggest benefit of making climbing shoes from leather. In fact, leather is so good at this, it can absorb up to 30% water without actually feeling wet.
Your feet will sweat significantly less in a pair of leather climbing shoes compared to that synthetic climbing shoes.

Durable – Leather is one of the most durable and hard-wearing fabrics available to shoemakers and clothing manufacturers. After all, there’s a reason why bikers are dressed head to toe in the stuff. The fibers inside the leather are woven so tightly that it makes the leather more resistant to wear and tear. This natural resilience lends itself perfectly to climbing shoes, an environment where our shoes are constantly being scraped across rock and rough gym walls.

The Custom Fit – While leather is a durable and strong material, it still has the ability to conform to any shape. One of our favorite characteristics of leather climbing shoes is the custom fit you are left with after the break-in period.

The Cons

They are bad for the environment – The biggest downside of leather is the significant impact it has on the environment. In fact, the Higgs Index (a directory that measures the environmental impact of raw materials used in manufacturing) consistently rates cow leather as one of the worst materials to contribute to global warming, water waste, and water pollution.

Higgs Index - The Impact of leather materials
The environmental impact of popular fabrics

The stretch – While the adaptable nature of leather helps get that custom fit after the break-in period, it doesn’t top there. Leather climbing shoes are notorious for stretching, and you can usually expect your unlined leather climbing shoes to stretch an entire size up, if not more, across the course of your life.

Lined Vs Unlined Climbing Shoes

As I mentioned earlier, when it comes to leather climbing shoes, they can usually be separated into two camps; lined and unlined. Unlined climbing shoes use all-leather uppers for construction. These types of shoes inherit all the benefits and downsides mentioned above. 

Lined climbing shoes, on the other hand, use a combination of both leather and synthetic materials. Utilizing synthetic materials helps minimize stretch in areas that you want to minimize stretch, like the toe box for example. Manufacturers often make their shoes fully lined or partially lined, depending on how they want to balance the attributes of natural and synthetic materials.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top